Analysis of socio-economic effects of public investments as a basis for targeted economic development

 

Public infrastructure projects usually reach considerable financial dimensions. Cost-benefit assessments are the central instrument for weighing up whether a project makes economic sense or which projects deserve priority. In addition to direct investment, operating and maintenance costs, expected internal and external costs also play an important role. 

 

Our economic analyses primarily relate to the transport and logistics sector: How can changes in the framework conditions, in particular market changes, be assessed? What influence do certain operator models have on investment costs and subsequent maintenance costs? How are environmental and social effects to be assessed? To what extent do macro-economic costs differ from business-related transport costs? 

 

PLANCO has developed standard procedures for the responsible public clients for the methodological questions to be clarified and has implemented them within the framework of tangible cost-benefit studies. 

 

In principle, our economic analyses can be applied to all major infrastructure investments. However, we have developed special expertise in the areas of sea and inland ports, inland and sea waterways, trunk roads and leisure shipping. PLANCO develops and updates economic transport cost rates (including external costs), which may differ significantly from business costs, as a basis for these evaluations. On this basis, PLANCO compiles cost comparisons for individual modes of transport.

 

Regional economic analysis

 

Infrastructure investments can trigger considerable regional economic effects. They generate additional employment not only during the construction period, but also in the later operation and thus benefit the regional economy and population. 

 

PLANCO has also developed suitable methods for the regional economic evaluation of investments and has implemented them for numerous investment projects. In the course of these evaluations, PLANCO also determines the effects of individual branches and sectors on regional employment, added value and tax efficiency. PLANCO is also in a position to derive corresponding requirements for vocational training. Our analyses of these effects, for example, refer to

 

  • Sea and inland ports

  • Tourism sector

  • Industrial zones and logistics centres.

 

References from the field of Economic Analysis can be found under our Business Areas.

© PLANCO Consulting GmbH

Analyse sozio-ökonomischer Effekte öffentlicher Investitionen als Grundlage für zielgerichtete Wirtschaftsförderung

 

Öffentliche Infrastrukturvorhaben erreichen meist erhebliche finanzielle Größenordnungen. Für die Abwägung, ob ein Vorhaben volkswirtschaftlich sinnvoll ist bzw. welche Vorhaben Vorrang verdienen, sind Nutzen-Kosten-Bewertungen das zentrale Instrument. Neben den unmittelbaren Investitions- und Instandhaltungskosten spielen in der Folge zu erwartende interne und externe Kosten eine wichtige Rolle. 

 

Unsere volkswirtschaftlichen Analysen beziehen sich vornehmlich auf den Transport- und Logistiksektor: Wie sind Veränderungen der Umweltbelastungen, der Unfallzahlen, der Transport-/ Reisezeiten zu bewerten? Inwieweit unterscheiden sich volkswirtschaftliche von betriebswirtschaftlichen Transportkosten? 

 

Für dabei zu klärende methodische Fragen hat PLANCO für die zuständigen öffentlichen Auftraggeber Standardverfahren entwickelt und im Rahmen von konkreten Nutzen-Kosten-Untersuchungen (NKU) umgesetzt.

 

Unsere volkswirtschaftlichen Analysen lassen sich prinzipiell auf alle größeren Infrastrukturinvestitionen anwenden. Besondere Expertise haben wir jedoch in den Bereichen See- und Binnenhäfen, Binnen- und Seewasserstraßen, Fernstraßen sowie in der Freizeitschifffahrt entwickelt. Als Grundlage für diese Bewertungen erarbeitet und aktualisiert PLANCO volkswirtschaftliche Transportkostensätze (einschließlich der externen Kosten), die sich deutlich von betriebswirtschaftlichen Kosten unterscheiden können. Auf dieser Grundlage erstellt PLANCO Kostenvergleiche einzelner Verkehrsträger.

 

Regionalwirtschaftliche Analysen

 

Infrastrukturinvestitionen können erhebliche regionalwirtschaftliche Effekte auslösen. Sie generieren nicht nur während der Bau-, sondern auch im späteren Betrieb zusätzliche Beschäftigung und kommen damit der regionalen Wirtschaft und Bevölkerung zugute. 

 

PLANCO hat ebenfalls für die regionalwirtschaftliche Bewertung von Investitionen geeignete Methoden entwickelt und diese für zahlreiche Investitionsvorhaben umgesetzt. Im Zuge dieser Bewertungen ermittelt PLANCO auch die Effekte einzelner Branchen und Sektoren auf die regionale Beschäftigung, Wertschöpfung und steuerliche Leistungsfähigkeit. PLANCO ist darüber hinaus in der Lage, entsprechende Anforderungen an die berufliche Bildung abzuleiten. Unsere Analysen dieser Effekte beziehen sich zum Beispiel auf:

 

  • See- und Binnenhäfen

  • Tourismussektor

  • Industrieansiedlungen und Logistikzentren.

 

Referenzen aus dem Bereich Volkswirtschaftliche Analysen finden Sie unter unseren Geschäftsfeldern.

© PLANCO Consulting GmbH