90 percent of world trade is handled by shipping. In the age of globalization, it ensures an economically and ecologically efficient transport of goods

 

The international division of labour is essential for of our prosperity. Sea and inland ports are the gateways to the world and thus an indispensable part of the German economy. Through our seaports we export our products to the world and import preliminary products for our production. Sea and inland waterway vessels are also environmentally friendly means of transport, without which transport and economic development cannot be sustained. 

 

Our services to strengthen ports and shipping essentially cover the following areas:

 

Traffic forecasts

 

Transport forecasts are the basis for assessing considered investments in transport infrastructure. PLANCO has developed comprehensive procedures for the preparation of freight traffic forecasts and has databases that are hardly accessible elsewhere, as well as software solutions for linking various data sources that are not always uniformly defined. Forecasts for individual seaports or inland ports include expected changes in competitive strength (e.g. seaports – future deepening of seaward access; inland ports – potential for developing additional logistics services). Future changes in the competitiveness of the various modes of transport are also taken into account, also under the influence of transport and environmental policy measures in favour of sustainable transport solutions.

 

PLANCO bases forecasts for investment measures on inland waterways on future changes in regional economic power, where possible, also incorporating existing forecasts from other institutes. For the interregional matrix of freight transport volumes, PLANCO develops estimates of the volume shares of inland navigation. These estimates are made for the comparative situations 'with' and 'without' the infrastructure investments considered. Accordingly, PLANCO calculates the investment-related modal shift to inland navigation. The resulting quantities are allocated to the inland waterways network. The different capacities of the different inland waterways are taken into account as well as expected (partly also investment-related) changes in the size structure of the inland vessels used. PLANCO thus provides the quantity structure to be used for the evaluation of expansion measures on the waterways and their locks.

 

Similarly, PLANCO prepares forecasts for the fleet structures of the seagoing vessels calling at the respective seaports, with or without the investment measure under consideration, for measures to adapt sea waterways to growing ship sizes (especially in container traffic). Since this measure can also lead to traffic shifts between seaports, the regional and modal structure of the respective seaport hinterland traffic is also relevant for the assessment. This essentially determines the valuation-relevant changes of seaport-related transport costs in the hinterland, including environmental and other external costs.

 

Evaluation of investment projects

 

For maritime and inland waterway transport, PLANCO prepares cost-benefit assessments of expansion and maintenance investments (fairway adjustments, lock expansion). It is based on comprehensive databases, forecasting tools and self-developed software packages as well as an evaluation methodology that has been continuously further developed in dialogue, especially with the German federal government. The business, regional and economic evaluation levels can be differentiated.

The evaluation methodology is continuously adapted to new scientific findings, in particular with regard to environmental and other external costs and benefits.

 

Preparation of funding applications for combined transport

 

The German federal government provides extensive funds for the promotion of combined transport. Applicants (inland ports) must submit funding applications that prove their eligibility. PLANCO prepares these applications based on our knowledge of the funding requirements and our knowledge of the market. A wide range of contacts with key players in the port, transport and logistics industries allow a sound and rapid assessment of the potentials that can be tapped through the investments to be supported.

 

Development concepts

 

PLANCO prepares SWOT analyses for individual inland ports or seaports as well as for inland navigation companies in order to identify fields of action for the long-term development of the respective company. This is based on well-founded market analyses and forecasts (definition of the relevant market, demand and turnover forecasts), competitive assessments from both an expert and a customer perspective. The market segments are being identified for which the proposed investment is expected to generate particular impact. The focus is on general cargo and container handling and the associated logistics with particular intervention fields such as marketing, cooperation, infrastructure and land development.

 

References in the area Port Development | Maritime and Inland Shipping.

© PLANCO Consulting GmbH

90 Prozent des Welthandels wird über die Schifffahrt abgewickelt. Sie sichert im Zeitalter der Globalisierung einen ökonomisch und ökologisch effizienten Warentransfer

 

Die internationale Arbeitsteilung ist eine wesentliche Grundlage unseres Wohlstands. See- und Binnenhäfen sind die Tore zur Welt und insofern ein unverzichtbarer Bestandteil der deutschen Wirtschaft. Über die Häfen exportieren wir unsere Produkte in die Welt und importieren wichtige Vorprodukte für unsere Produktion. See- und Binnenschiffe sind zudem umweltfreundliche Transportmittel, ohne die eine nachhaltige Verkehrs- und Wirtschaftsentwicklung nicht gelingen kann. 

 

Unsere Leistungen zur Stärkung von Häfen und Schifffahrt umfassen im Wesentlichen die folgenden Bereiche:

 

Verkehrsprognosen

 

Verkehrsprognosen sind die Grundlage für die Bewertung erwogener Investitionen in die Verkehrsinfrastruktur. PLANCO hat umfassende Verfahren für die Erstellung von Güterverkehrsprognosen entwickelt und verfügt über anderswo kaum zugängliche Datenbanken sowie Softwarelösungen für die Verknüpfung verschiedener, nicht immer einheitlich definierter Datenquellen. Prognosen für einzelne See- oder Binnenhäfen beziehen erwartete Veränderungen der Wettbewerbsstärke ein (z.B. Seehäfen – zukünftige Vertiefung der seewärtigen Zufahrt; Binnenhäfen – Potenzial für die Entwicklung zusätzlicher Logistikangebote). Ebenso berücksichtigt werden künftige Veränderungen in der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der verschiedenen Verkehrsträger, auch unter dem Einfluss verkehrs- und umweltpolitischer Maßnahmen zugunsten nachhaltiger Verkehrslösungen.

 

Prognosen für Investitionsmaßnahmen an Binnenwasserstraßen stützt PLANCO auf künftige Veränderungen der regionalen Wirtschaftskraft, wo möglich, auch unter Einbeziehung vorliegender Prognosen anderer Institute. Für die interregionale Matrix der Güterverkehrsmengen erarbeitet PLANCO Schätzungen der Aufkommensanteile der Binnenschifffahrt. Diese Schätzungen erfolgen für die Vergleichssituationen ‚mit‘ bzw. ‚ohne‘ die erwogenen Infrastrukturinvestitionen. Das heißt, PLANCO ermittelt die investitionsbedingte Verkehrsverlagerung auf die Binnenschifffahrt. Die resultierenden Mengen werden auf das Netz der Binnenwasserstraßen umgelegt. Dabei werden die unterschiedlichen Leistungsfähigkeiten der verschiedenen Binnenwasserstraßen ebenso berücksichtigt, wie zu erwartende (z.T. auch investitionsbedingte) Veränderungen der Größenstruktur eingesetzter Binnenschiffe. Damit stellt PLANCO das Mengengerüst zur Verfügung, das für die Bewertung von Ausbaumaßahmen an den Wasserstraßen bzw. deren Schleusen heranzuziehen ist.

 

Analog erarbeitet PLANCO bei Maßnahmen zur Anpassung von Seewasserstraßen an wachsende Schiffsgrößen (insb. Im Containerverkehr) Prognosen für die Flottenstrukturen der den jeweiligen Seehafen anlaufenden Seeschiffe, mit bzw. ohne die erwogene Investitionsmaßnahme. Da diese Maßnahme auch zu Verkehrsverlagerungen zwischen den Seehäfen führen kann, ist für die Bewertung auch relevant, welche regionale und modale Struktur der jeweiligen Seehafen-Hinterland-Verkehre hat. Dies bestimmt wesentlich die bewertungsrelevanten Veränderungen seehafenbedingter Transportkosten im Hinterland einschließlich von Umwelt- und anderen externen Kosten.

 

Bewertung von Investitionsvorhaben

 

Für die See- und die Binnenschifffahrt erarbeitet PLANCO Nutzen-Kosten-Bewertungen von Ausbau- und Erhaltungsinvestitionen (Fahrwasseranpassungen, Schleusenausbau). Zugrunde liegen umfassende Datenbanken, Prognosetools und selbst entwickelte Softwarepakete sowie eine im Dialog vor allem mit dem Bund fortlaufend weiter entwickelte Bewertungsmethodik. Dabei können die betriebs-, die regional- und die volkswirtschaftlichen Bewertungsebenen beleuchtet werden.

Die Bewertungsmethodik wird laufend an neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse angepasst, insbesondere in Bezug auf Umwelt- und andere externe Kosten bzw. Nutzen.

 

Erarbeitung von Förderanträgen für den kombinierten Verkehr

 

Für die Förderung des kombinierten Verkehrs stellt der Bund umfangreiche Mittel zur Verfügung. Antragsteller (Binnenhäfen) müssen hierzu Förderanträge stellen, die die Förderwürdigkeit nachweisen. PLANCO erarbeitet diese Förderanträge und stützt sich dabei auf die Kenntnis der Förderanforderungen, andererseits auf die Marktkenntnisse. Vielfältige Kontakte mit maßgeblichen Akteuren der Hafen-, Transport- und Logistikwirtschaft erlauben eine fundierte und zügige Einschätzung der Potenziale, die durch die zu fördernden Investitionen erschlossen werden können.

 

Entwicklungskonzepte

 

Für einzelne Binnen- oder Seehäfen sowie für Unternehmen der Binnenschifffahrt erstellt PLANCO Potenzial- und Schwachstellenanalysen, um Handlungsfelder für die langfristige Unternehmensentwicklung zu identifizieren. Grundlage sind fundierte Marktanalysen und -prognosen (Abgrenzung des relevanten Marktes, Nachfrage- und Umschlagprognosen), Wettbewerbseinschätzungen aus gutachterlicher und aus Kundensicht. Es werden die Marktsegmente identifiziert, die für vorgeschlagene Maßnahmen besondere Wirksamkeit erwarten lassen. Schwerpunkte sind der Stückgut- und Containerumschlag und die mit ihnen verbundene Logistik mit den Handlungsfeldern Marketing, Kooperationen, Infrastruktur, Flächenentwicklung.

 

Referenzen im Bereich Hafenentwicklung | See- und Binnenschifffahrt.

© PLANCO Consulting GmbH